Michael Finkelstein, 2011

 
Dear followers,

As usual, much has happened since my last blog post. I had a friend come into town last weekend whom I met while living in and traveling around Europe last summer. I love it when people come visit New Orleans and I get to show them the city, especially people who have never been here before. I take great pride in my city and in telling people about the history of the city, the state, and the people down here. I get an excuse to indulge in some of the best food in the city and go play tourist in my hometown. I look into their astonished eyes as they gaze up around inside the famous St. Louis Cathedral and I see their mouths drop as they first walk upon Jackson Square, seeing it abuzz with tourists, locals, and artists alike, selling their crafts to the casual passer-by.  

This Sunday, I went and caught a beautiful sunset on Barataria Bay at Jean Lafitte National Park. I narrowly avoided being nibbled on by an alligator, but that's for another story. On Wednesday, I ate lunch with an attorney my dad did some work with in the early part of his career, Rick Perles. Mr. Perles has since started his own firm and has been very successful. (http://leefutrell.com/). While I spent most of the conversation trying to figure out exactly what he does in his practice and how he does it, Mr. Perles was quick to give me his great advice and lessons learned during his career, before discussing the decision he made with a few former co-workers to open their own practice in New Orleans. 

Wednesday night, I enjoyed a fantastic dinner at Delachaise on St. Charles Avenue, near Superior Grill. The food was nothing short of amazing and the wine was superb. Between the elegant and eclectic menu, premium and extensive wine selection, outdoor patio, and general laid-back vibe, I felt like I was back in Europe again. After dinner, my date and I rushed over to Tulane's Dixon Hall, where we had tickets to see Tulane Summer Lyric Theater's production of Sunset Boulevard. While some of the songs were a little choppy, the show was a great success. The female lead gave an outstanding performance and the combination of the show with an amazing meal before and delightful company really made for a very nice evening. 

Thursday I met up with Emily Adams from the LSU Foundation and the LSU College of Humanities and Social Sciences. We hopped around uptown scouting bars and restaurants to host an LSU Young Alumni Event. During our escapades, we, oddly enough, happened upon a Bama Alumni reunion at Oak uptown. I had apparently looked confused and was stopped by a crowd of people who asked me if I was lost. As we began talking, they told me that they were Auburn Alumni who scheduled an impromptu alumni rendezvous of their own at Oak. So, Emily and I ended up hanging out among a crowd of Auburn and Bama people who just so happened to end up at the same place.

On tap for tonight is a relaxing evening with some friends before heading out to a friend's wedding in Baton Rouge tomorrow. Should be a good one, I'll keep you updated. Till then...
7/17/2012 05:11:47 am

There are some fascinating closing dates on this post but I don�t know if I see all of them middle to heart. There�s some validity nevertheless I�ll take maintain opinion until I look into it further. Great article , thanks and we want extra! Added to FeedBurner as effectively

Reply
1/29/2013 05:19:11 pm

I went over this internet site and I believe you have a lot of excellent information, saved to fav....

Reply



Leave a Reply.